Skip to content


Shirley S. Abrahamson served on the Wisconsin Supreme Court for 43 years. She was Wisconsin’s first woman justice and chief justice, and she is the longest-serving justice in Wisconsin history. She devoted her record-breaking career to cultivating an independent judiciary, access to justice, equality for all people, and public confidence in the court system.

Help promote public understanding of Chief Justice Abrahamson’s life and work. Donate today to support the annual legacy award, traveling exhibit, website, Tootsie the Goldfish online learning tool in her honor.

Donations are made to the Wisconsin Historical Foundation, which serves as the fiscal agent for the Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson Committee and its projects.

The Wisconsin Historical Foundation is a 501(c)3, nonprofit organization that supports the Wisconsin Historical Society through private contributions and its membership program.

Shirley Abrahamson being sworn in as Wisconsin's first woman justice. Photo: WiscNews

Thank you to the following foundations, corporations, law firms, and individuals for their generous support:

  • Chief Justice Abrahamson’s Law Clerks and Judicial Assistants
  • Epic Systems Corporation
  • Foley & Lardner LLP – Madison
  • Habush Habush & Rottier Charitable Fund
       within the Community Foundation for the Fox Valley Region
  • Michelle Friedman
  • The Estate of Gretchen Hoover
  • Wisconsin Civil Justice Foundation
$5,000 – $9,999
  • von Briesen & Roper, s.c.
  • Burns Bowen Bair, LLP
  • Davis & Kuelthau, s.c.
  • Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown, LLP
  • Gingras, Thomsen & Wachs, LLP
  • Godfrey & Kahn S.C. – Milwaukee
  • John and Carmen Skilton
  • John and Katherine Miller Charitable Fund of Lakeshore Community Foundation
  • Quarles & Brady LLP
  • Ruder Ware Law Firm
$1,000 – $4,999
  • Gregg and Amy Bogost
  • Boardman & Clark
  • Mark and Ann Bradley
  • Bremer & Trollop Law Offices
  • Crooks Law Office
  • Domer Law
  • Forrest and Andrea Farrell
  • Gass Turek, LLC
  • Janine Geske and Michael Hogan
  • Haben Goitom and Chris Smithka
  • Michael and Linda Groth
  • Robert Habush
  • Herb Kohl Philanthropies
  • Robert Hughes
  • Lake Effect HR & Law, LLC
  • Mastantuono & Coffee S.C.
  • Christine Bremer and Paul Muggli
  • Perkins Coie LLP
  • Pines Bach
  • David and Louise Trubek
  • Benjamin Wagner
$1 – $999
  • Elizabeth and Lynn Adelman
  • Hildegard Adler
  • Alan and Colleen Ball
  • Audrey Brooks
  • Sandy Brown
  • Gina Carter
  • Brad Dallet
  • Jeffrey O. Davis and Rachel Schneider
  • J. Michael End
  • Kathleen Donius
  • The Honorable Kathleen M. Falk
  • Laura Graham
  • Lynn Haug
  • Herrling Clark Law Firm, Ltd
  • Mark Hertzberg
  • Tiffany Highstrom
  • Barbara Ingram and William Tyroler
  • Richard Johnson
  • Susan and Murray Katcher
  • Stuart Kim
  • Stephen Kravit
  • Ronald Luskin
  • Tim and Linda Muth
  • Aaron Nelson
  • Anne and Thomas Reed
  • Peter Ritz and Carrie Macklin-Ritz
  • Noah Rosenthal
  • Sherie Sasso
  • Eric and Jane Schulenburg
  • Todd Smith
  • Alan Spiro
  • William Steinmetz
  • Rayla Temin
  • Kent Tess-Mattner
  • Susan Tyndall
  • Jeffrey and Dylan Wagner
  • Mary Kay Wagner
  • G. Lane* and Linda Ware
  • Frances L. Weinstein